APRRN Members

Based on the location and focus of their work, APRRN members select to participate in four geographical (Southeast Asia; South Asia; East Asia; Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific) and six thematic working groups (Regional Protection, Youth, Women and Girls at Risk, Legal Aid and Advocacy, Immigration Detention and Statelessness). Members provide input into the action plan for each working group every two years at the Asia Pacific Consultation on Refugee Rights (APCRR) and other working group consultations. Each geographic working group elects a Chair and a Deputy Chair, who are responsible for working with the Secretariat to coordinate the implementation the activities of the action plans.
For more details on how to become a member, please click here

APRRN Steering Committee

APRRN is governed by a volunteer Steering Committee (SC). The Steering Committee is elected by APRRN members at the biennial Asia Pacific Consultation on Refugee Rights and serve a two year term – Steering Committee members are eligible for re-election for a maximum of two consecutive terms. In addition there are 3 non-voting Steering Committee members that serve as experts. An advisory group is also nominated to assist the Steering Committee and the network.

SC Members

APRRN Chair: Yiombi Thona (Refuge pNan)

APRRN Deputy Chair: Lilianne Fan (Geutanyoe Foundation)

Nominated Refugee Representative: Vacant

Geographic Working Group Representatives:

South Asia:

Chair: Ashok Gladston Xavier (OfERR, India)

Deputy Chair: Imran Khan Laghari (Human Rights Alliance, Pakistan)

Southeast Asia:

Chair: Deepa Nambiar (Asylum Access)

Deputy Chair: Gina Yap (Community and Family Services International)

East Asia:

Chair: Vacant

Deputy Chair: Il Lee (APIL)

Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific:

Chair: Parsu Sharma-Luital (Bhutanese Community in Australia)

Deputy Chair: Molly Kennedy (MClass)

Thematic Working Group Representatives:

Immigration Detention:

Chair: Vivienne Chew (International Detention Coalition, Australia)

Legal Aid and Advocacy:

Chair: Ali Palh (Rights Now Pakistan)

Women and Girls at Risk:

Chair: Hina Tabassum (Children and Women Trust)


Chair: Chris Lewa (Arakan Project)


Chair: Dor Achiek (Settlement Services International)

Regional Protection:

Chair: Brian Barbour (Japan Association for Refugees)

Experts (non-voting members):

These non-voting members are nominated by the Steering Committee (one year renewable terms) in recognition of their services to the network, experience and expertise.

  • Paul Power (Refugee Council of Australia)
  • Dr. Gopal Krishna Siwakoti (INHURED International)
  • Alice Nah (University of York, United Kingdom)

Non SC Members

Deputy Chair Immigration Detention: Najeeba Wazefadost (ANCORW, Australia)

Deputy Chair Legal Aid and Advocacy: Caroline Stover (Center for Asylum Protection, Thailand)

Deputy Chair Women and Girls at Risk: Tenneh Kpaka (ANCORW, Australia)

Deputy Chair Statelessness:  Sumitha Kishna (Migration Working Group, Malaysia)

Deputy Chair Youth:  Arash Bordbar (Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network, Australia)

Deputy Chair Regional Protection:  Tamara Domicelj (Act for Peace, Australia)



Advisors will be nominated soon by the Steering Committee.

APRRN Secretariat

The network is coordinated through the Secretariat which is based in Bangkok and is headed by the Secretary General. The team currently includes a Secretary General, a Programme Coordinator, Operations Coordinator, Programme Officer, Finance Manager, Administrative Officer and post-graduate interns. The main responsibilities of the Secretariat  include:

  • Coordinating training activities, workshops, consultations and working group meetings
  • Supporting members on the ground by making their issues visible on a regional and international level
  • Monitoring and coordinating responses to refugee rights violations
  • Facilitating information sharing and internal/external communication channels between members
  • Consolidating evidence, research and analysis on pressing issues
  • Facilitating local, regional and international representation of members
  • Obtaining and managing APRRN funding
  • Managing the daily operations of the network

Current APRRN Secretariat staff includes:

Secretary General:
Julia Mayerhofer

Programme Coordinator:
Evan Jones

Operations Coordinator:

Programme Officer:
Sussi Prapakranant

Administrative Officer:
Mayuree Ruechakiattikul

Finance Manager:
Issaree Dinsamutra

Programme Consultant:
Jessica Darby

Leave a Comment